D.I.Y Cute Face Mask

So yesterday I realized how much dust there was on my overhead fan. Gross! Literally the was so much dust on my fan I thought if I turned it on I would of definitely gotten some in my lungs. I think to my self, “This HAS to get done, how do I go about cleaning this with out dying. So I decided to make a face mask. In Japan, wearing a face mask is a very popular thing. The people of Japan wear face masks to: make sure they don’t spread their sickness to others and to not GET sick from other people. I am not sick but I thought this would be a great way to NOT get sick from the dust.

Here is what you need to make this fun face mask:

  • (2)5.5×4.5 inches rectangles
  • (2)rectangles x+2=width (I will further explain)*
  • (2) 5×2 inches *
  • Fun decor, lace, ruffles, beads, etc

* For these two you can actually use binding tape (I decided to use the same fabric from the mouth piece)

ImageI started out by cutting out my  pieces. Six in total

Image

I then took the mouth pieces and added slight curves to each corner (I used my handy dandy wax chalk)

Image

TIP: Grab your two longest pieces and lets talk about the * from the intro. In order to find what the length is of the top and bottom binding, you have to measure from ear-ear or tragus to tragus. My number was 11 inches and I add 2 inches. So 13 inches by 2 inches

I then added my home made binding to the sides first. Top Stitch towards the open side. If you need help with binding I will be more than happy to make a quick tut. After that is sewn into place, I added the top and  bottom binding  and pinned that into place. This is where you add your fun, pretty, additions. I decided to add some lace to sides and the a layer of them in the middle.

Image

I cut and trimmed some lace and I did a blind hem stitch. I did this because it is a strong stitch and it is a less noticeable one. Remember to always pin. Pinning is your best friend when sewing.

Next connect the bottom and top bindings together to fully construct the ear pieces. I added some lace to my sides to make them look prettier. Connect and WaLa!

20130618_104902

Leave a Reply

